What Time is it?

Standard

I woke up this morning and the sun was up. “Oh no,” I thought, “This is not good.” I immediately panicked, “What time is it? I am going to be late for work. A frantic search through the house turned up my cell phone which displayed the time as 7:30 a.m. “Crap,” I thought, “I have to call the school to tell them I’m going to be late. Oh, this is awful. I feel so stupid. Why didn’t I set the alarm? Why had my phone not woken me up? I fumbled around with my phone for what seemed like an eternity and finally was able to dial Amazonia, it rang and rang. Where is everybody…will somebody please answer the phone? Damn, I ‘ll try back later. I have to get dressed….Wait, what day is this? It’s Monday right?……or could it be Sunday?” I really did not know. I had to get my laptop out and sign on to Chrome to see the date… it said 1/8/2017. This information was not really very helpful because I still did not know what day of the week it was. Ultimately, I went to the calendar to look for January 8th. It was Sunday. “Okay and this is the right calendar?” “Yes, 2017.” “Well okay then. I’m good.”
You see this is why I drag myself out of bed an hour earlier than most people do in the morning. Because I need to just sit on the couch with my coffee for at least 30 minutes before attempting to function in the world at any level. I wake up in an altered state of consciousness that makes my brain incapable of forming thoughts based on the real world. The only thing that seems to snap me out of this state is a gallon or two of really strong coffee and the passing of time. Until I am transported back to reality I cannot be held responsible for acts that may occur while I am under its dark influences.

About msmurfie

Shawn Murphy is a woman of mystery and power whose power is only exceeded by her mystery. She did not adjust well to the corporate life of cubicles and voicemail so went back to school and became an elementary school art teacher. Shawn enjoys walks in the woods despite being mostly allergic to the woods. She loves dogs, hates snakes, listens to self help CD’s and sings loudly to Beach Boys songs while driving. She tries to understand algebra , no luck so far. Past accomplishments include mending fences, literally and figuratively, folding a fitted sheet and shooting awesome photographs. Hopes to one day learn how to tie ties and sharpen knives properly. Easy going and painfully honest. Tends to share almost anything, much to the chagrin of friends and family.

Leave a Reply

